The journal Neurosurgery names UW Neurological Surgery team article as Cerebrovascular Paper of the Year

Congratulations to UW Neurological Surgery co-authors David C. Straus, MD, Harley Brito da Silva, MD (Co-First Authors), Lynn McGrath, MDMichael R. Levitt, MDLouis J. Kim, MDBasavaraj V. Ghodke, MD, Jason K. Barber, MS and Laligam N. Sekhar, MD whose paper entitled "Cerebral Revascularization for Aneurysms in the Flow Diverter Era" has been selected as the Neurosurgery Top Cerebrovascular Paper of the Year. This paper summarizes the present role of bypass surgery for aneurysms after the advent of Flow Diverter stents. UW Medicine / Harborview Medical Center is one of the few Centers world-wide with extensive experience in this surgery, as well as being one of the centers where many of the procedures were invented.
In a letter to Dr. Sekhar, Neurosurgery editors Nelson Oyesiku and Elad Ley write "The competition for this honor was extremely rigorous, and involved review of all papers submitted to the Journal between June 2016 and June 2017. Congratulations". Dr. da Silva will present the paper at the 2017 CNS Annual Meeting in Boston in October, 2017. This is a signal honor conferred by one of the world’s leading neurological surgery journals. Read the article on Pub Med.